80 min

Creative Team

Concept and Realization

La Chambre aux échos

Musical works by

Kaija Saariaho, Matias Vestergård, Sebastian Hilli 

Text, Stage Direction & Video

Aleksi Barrière 

Musical Direction

Clément Mao-​Takacs

Co-​Stage Design, Lighting Design

Étienne Exbrayat

Visual works (Study for life)

Martin Atanasov

Video Engineers

Thomas Goepfer, Jean-​Batiste Barrière

Sound Engineer

Timo Kurkikangas

Premiere Cast


Thomas Kellner 


Tuuli Lindeberg 

Solo Violin

Peter Herresthal 


Secession Orchestra (32 players) 

Premiere Program

Kaija Saariaho (1952 – 2023)

Study for Life (1981, rev. 2019)

Text: T.S. Eliot, The Hollow Men

Matias Vestergård (*1989)

…through its darkness (2019)

Text: R.M. Rilke, Orpheus. Eurydike. Hermes

Sebastian Hilli (*1990)

Peach (2019)

Kaija Saariaho

Graal Théâtre (1994)
new version with actor (2018)

Text: Aleksi Barrière, Not a Knight


6 July 2019

Workshop version at the Time of Music Festival in Viitasaari, Finland. 

31 August — 3 September 2022 (WP)

Finnish National Opera, Finland.



“This spectacular combinatorial work elicits a depth of feeling and thought inaccessible to music alone.”

Santeri Kaipianen, Keskisuomalainen


“I hope with all my heart that this fascinating multidisciplinary work can soon be seen and heard elsewhere.”

Martin Malgrem, Hufvudstadsbladet


“It’s overwhelmingly beautiful, profound and sometimes even humorous. The lights and colors take you along. You want to stop between pieces to re-​read the texts and reflect, but you can’t. It’s like a dream, you want to stop but at the same time you want to see what’s going to happen next.”

Audience feedback

Let’s create together.

Are you looking to program a music/theatre performance, a musical event?