Melologue in nine scenes (2016)

by Juha T. Koskinen
on texts by William ShakespeareHeiner Müller
and Jules Laforgue


World premiere on February 14th 2017 at 8 pm at the Maison de la Radio (Paris)
in the framework of the Festival Présences.

with Thomas Kellner, actor
Vladimir Percevic, solo viola
and Secession Orchestra (16 players)

Libretto and stage direction  Aleksi Barrière
Musical direction  Clément Mao-Takacs

Lighting design  Étienne Exbrayat

The performance on February 14th 2017 was preceded by a concert by Secession Orchestra (premieres by Florent Motsch, Kaija Saariaho and Davor B. Vincze)
and broadcast live on France Musique.

After a short love story with Hamlet, the prince of Denmark, the young Ophelia is rejected by him without an explanation, and the close circle of the new king uses and manipulates her in order to gain information on the motivations of the prince, who chose to hide behind the incoherent behavior of a mad man. In this context of perverse role-playing, Ophelia gradually goes insane herself. This lonely female character destroyed by men’s politics has been often adapted, and many voices have been given to her. Lead by an actress and a solo viola, this new piece uses various sources to understand her complexity and ambiguity, through the relationships between performer and character, text and music, and stage and video.

Feedback & Press